Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **MMG LIMITED**

五礦資源有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(HKEX STOCK CODE: 1208) (ASX STOCK CODE: MMG)

## VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT LAS BAMBAS UPDATE

The board of directors (Board) of MMG Limited (Company) announces that there has been an incident near to the site of the Company's Las Bambas operation in Peru. The Company advises that there has been protest activity in the Apurimac region along the road which is used to access Las Bambas.

The protests have been instigated by a community 20 kilometres from Las Bambas. The reported reasons for the protest include issues concerning the rights associated with the road and involved the community blocking the road for a number of days. Regional and National Peruvian authorities have been engaging with the community about the classification of the road for a number of years. During the protest, activity escalated and police involvement increased. Sadly it has been reported that one community member has died and numerous police have sustained injuries.

Las Bambas management are continuing to monitor the situation closely. Management are focused on ensuring the safety of the people located at the site and the safety of the community. While normal rates of production continue, logistics have been temporarily disrupted by community activities blocking the road.

The Company will update shareholders in relation to any material developments in due course.

By order of the Board

MMG Limited

Andrew Gordon Michelmore

CEO and Executive Director

Hong Kong, 19 October 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises eight directors, of which two are executive directors, namely Mr Andrew Gordon Michelmore and Mr Xu Jiqing; two are non-executive directors, namely Mr Jiao Jian (Chairman) and Mr Gao Xiaoyu; and four are independent non-executive directors, namely Dr Peter William Cassidy, Mr Leung Cheuk Yan, Ms Jennifer Anne Seabrook and Professor Pei Ker Wei.